House of Paula

The D Words

Posted on: May 22, 2007

When you are working towards a goal, there are three “D” words that you have to remember along the way – determination, discipline, and dedicated – especially when the goal you are reaching for seems to be out of your grasp.

Determination is the first D. According to dictionary.com, determination is “the act of coming to a decision or of fixing or settling a purpose.” Right now my purpose in life is focused on becoming a healthier individual through changes in lifestyle – cleaning up my eating habits, getting rid of things in my life that no longer serve me or my goals, exercising regularly, and getting rid of situations in my life that cause stress and anxiety.

Another definition of determination also comes into play as I make these changes – “the quality of being resolute; firmness of purpose.” I have a sense of purpose that helps drive me towards my goals – I will reach these goals. It will take time and I won’t always see the progress I want, but being determined to change my body and mind, I will become healthy and get out of debt.

The next D is Discipline. Discipline in this case refers to “activity, exercise, or a regimen that develops or improves a skill; training.” I have created a regimen by scheduling the activity of exercise into my days. By being resolute in my purpose and practicing every day, I’m becoming stronger and healthier. I’m also getting better at some of the exercises that I wasn’t so great at when I started. The success and the failures I experience take me to new levels as a person and help me to be dedicated to the my goals.

The Final D is Dedicated – “to devote wholly and earnestly, as to some person or purpose”. Often you aren’t seen by others as being dedicated to purpose until you have shown some determination and discipline towards it. Sometimes you are the only person who really knows how dedicated you are to something. When I started lifting weights to change my body, I was determined to not go back to the old habits and I had to discipline myself to learn what I needed and then practice what I learned. But as I’ve shared my experiences with others, I begin to see how dedicated I am to continuing this practice in my life.

Leave a Reply

The Latest Tweets

Archives

Categories

