House of Paula

Grandma and the Ongoing Bikini Discussion

Posted on: June 3, 2007

I was reading a thread about bikini wearing on one of the fitness boards and they had a picture of a old woman wearing a bikini (I’ll spare you the painfulness of the picture). It reminded me of several conversations I’ve had with my grandmother about wearing bikinis.
The conversations would start in mid to late spring when the sun would start warming things up in Iowa and continue until Mid-July when it would get too hot for her to be comfortable outside. Gram would bring up getting a bikini. Which for the sake of her neighbors and my imagination, I strongly discouraged. It would be one thing if Gram was in shape. But she wasn’t.

The conversation would go something like this:

“I think I should get a bikini so I can get a tan.”

“Gram. really you should get a one piece.”

“But I don’t like one pieces, they smoosh my boobs.”

(Gram was pretty proud of her boobs, and honestly for an older woman, she had some great tatas since she always wore good bras. Ladies, the lesson here is that you need good foundation garments to help keep the girls perky as you age!)

“Yes but for your body, it would be best if you had a nice one piece…”

Twenty minutes later, the discussion would end and she wouldn’t get the bikini.

Even though I’m still far from actually being able to wear a bikini. I recently went out and purchased my first one. I don’t know how long it’ll be before I can wear it, but it’ll be interesting to see what I look like when it happens.

Leave a Reply

The Latest Tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Archives

Categories

