House of Paula

Absolutely Marvelous

Posted on: April 28, 2008

Tonight I was mixing up some pumpkin pancakes and I used the last of the store bought eggs I had. R. gave me some of eggs from his mom’s chickens on Sunday  and I needed to crack some to get the rest of the egg whites I needed for the pancakes. It’s been a while since I’ve had access to farm fresh eggs and I had forgotten how marvelous they look (and taste!).

The yolks were an absolutely marvelous shade of golden yellow. So rich a yellow that the yolks from the store bought eggs looked pale and puny like the colors of an underexposed photograph. It felt sinful watching them run down the bottom of the sink and into the insinkerator.

Leave a Reply

The Latest Tweets

Archives

Categories

