House of Paula

First Choice Power – Simply the Worst

Posted on: May 20, 2008

First Choice Power’s Motto should be changed from “Simply Better” to “Simply the Worst”. After I moved back in November 2007, I no longer needed their services since my new place had utilities included. After receiving a rather confusing bill in January from them because KwH were missed when they switched to their new billing system, I paid the amount I owed them and was told I should expect my deposit refund mid-March at the latest. I marked it on the calendar.

Mid-March came and went. At the end of the month I called them again. And found out that a payment from August had been reversed because their third party payment processor had a problem with their processing system. So what was supposed to be a $200 refund turned into approximately $73. I received no notice from First Choice about what happened with the third party processor because officially I was no longer on their customer rolls. But I was assured by their customer service person that I would be receiving my refund shortly. April came and went – again no check arrived in the mail so I called at the beginning of May.

I was told that there was a note in my file that my refund papers had been sent to the credit office on April 30th and that I should get my check within 7-10 business days. Ten business days have come and gone and I have yet to receive my check. So I called again this evening. No one can give me an answer as to why I haven’t recieved my check yet. I will have to call in the morning because the credit office is closed after 5.

It’s been almost seven months since I had service with First Choice Power. I feel like my money is being held hostage. Every time I call, no one can give me a good answer as to why I haven’t received my refund check and honestly, I doubt I will ever recieve the check.  I’ve spent at least 45 minutes on the phone each time I’ve called trying to get the appropriate answer to my questions. All I’ve gotten are a bunch of arbitrary dates as to when I should be getting my money and empty promises that I should get it soon.

 

 

Leave a Reply

The Latest Tweets

Archives

Categories

