House of Paula

Sad Today

Posted on: November 3, 2008

The sadness of yesterday is carrying into today. After 28 years, my beloved penguin Opus is “napping” according to Berkeley Breathed. I started reading Bloom County in high school and have continued to read Outland and Opus over the years. And I have to admit I cried a little this morning when I finally got to open the last pane of the strip on the HumaneSociety.org web site.

I love Opus. He always makes me laugh and he’s an eternal optimist. Besides, who else but a penguin with a very large nose could give us “Hairy Fish Nuts” whenever he sees a Hari Krishna  or date Jean Kirkpatrick, the former US Ambassador to the United Nations. And let us not forget how he shares his closet of anxieties with the rest of the world and lets us know that it’s okay to be anxious about things.

So while I understand Breathed’s reasons for wanting to end the strip as described on NPR and Salon,  it still makes me a little sad to think of the comic companion that has been a part of my life for the last 28 years will be no more. Opus has had a very good run and I hope that some day, he’ll make more appearances in kid’s books like A Wish for Wings That Work: An Opus Christmas Story, Goodnight Opus and The Last Basselope: One Ferocious Story. But in the mean time, every time I see a dandelion puff in the spring time, I’ll take a dandelion break and celebrate this odd little bird who brought great joy and laughter into my life almost every Sunday.

2 Responses to "Sad Today"

Unlike Opus I am out of hibernation!

Good God! You’re alive!!!!!

Leave a Reply

The Latest Tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Archives

Categories

