House of Paula

Playing with PhotoShop and PhotoShop Elements

Posted on: January 31, 2009

Photography is my second love after writing. I can spend hours with a camera and just shooting pictures. Most of what I shoot is, quite honestly, crap, but every once in a while I take something I really like. And I post it over on my photography blog.

I’m not one for overly photoshopped pictures. My understanding of photography comes working in an the actual darkroom and with people who cared enough to teach me a lot of good basic techniques with the camera to get the kinds of shots I want. I can usually tell when an image has been overly photoshopped and it’s become a wierd version of the original.

That being said, For Christmas, R got me Adobe Photoshop Elements & Premiere Elements 7 and I have a full blown version of Photoshop on my work computer. Add Pioneer Woman’s Photoshop Actions and the photography section of her web site and I’m experimenting just a little.ย  Nothing too extravagant mind you, but still, I am experimenting a little bit. I’ve had two successful experiments in this little endeavour of mine.

The first one came when Pioneer Woman explained how to use masking. I went to Kemah last weekend and I had a picture from the carousel that I really like.

DSC_4985

I thought it would be fun to take the background out of the equation and make it sepia toned using the actions from Pioneer Woman’s Action Set 2.
dragonhorse

However I wasn’t happy with the background being sepia. I feel like it didn’t make the Dragon Horse pop enough. So I turned down the saturation so it was set to 0. And made the background black and white.
dragonhorse2
I just love how the colors pop.

I’ve also started shooting in the RAW format. I took a picture last night of a chair down on the dock and I love what I was able to achieve just by making a few adjustments to the RAW file. I call this one “Infinity Chair”
Infinity Chair

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

The Latest Tweets

Archives

Categories

