House of Paula

The Best Things on the WHOLE Planet!

Posted on: February 25, 2009

My Grama Pauline and I have been connected at the hip since I was a little girl. I can remember laying across on her lap and her scratching my back until I fell asleep. And when she went home after a visit, often I would cry my heart out because I didn’t want her to go.

DSC_7067 Every year at Christmastime, Grama makes cookies – pfefferneuse, Special K cookies, sugar cookies, and gingersnaps. My favorites are the gingersnaps. Grama Pauline recently sent a few dozen gingersnaps. There’s nothing better on the whole planet than gingersnaps that Grama Pauline has made dipped into a big glass of milk.

A few years ago, I asked her for the recipes for her cookies. I was afraid that if I didn’t get them, that they would be lost for ever. I’m going to share the Gingersnap Recipe

Grama Pauline’s Gingersnap
Grama Pauline’s Ginger Cookies
2 eggs beaten
2 cups sugar
1.5 cups Butter Flavored Crisco
8 Tbsp molasses
2 tsp cinnamon
2 tsp ginger
4 tsp soda
4 cups flour

Cream together eggs, sugar, Crisco and molasses.

Sift together cinnamon, ginger, soda, and flour.

Mix sifted ingredients into creamed mixture. Chill 1 hour. Roll quarter-sized balls. Dip 1 side in sugar. (Do not press; they will crack by
themselves). Place in 325 degree oven. Bake 10-12 minutes and let cook on a rack.

3 Responses to "The Best Things on the WHOLE Planet!"

[…] Daily Picture – Yes. Grandma Pauline’s Gingersnaps Daily Writing – Yes – See […]

Nice info! Very cool post.I have looked over your blog a few times and I love it.

[…] Daily Picture – Yes. Grandma Pauline’s Gingersnaps Daily Writing – Yes – See […]

Leave a Reply

The Latest Tweets

Archives

Categories

