House of Paula

No More Procrastinating

Posted on: January 18, 2009

I feel this urge to clean. For those readers who are near and dear to me, they know that I do not like to clean. However, right before I left to visit my Mother at Thanksgiving, I cleaned. I made sure that everything was picked up, the counters were spotless, the floor was vacuumed, and the surfaces were clear of clutter. It was a marvelous thing to come home to. And of course, I promptly got sick when I got back from Iowa and everything steadily got worse and worse.

Today however, I’ve been using the techniques I learned from FlyLady, and have been whipping my apartment back into shape. I’ve made the bed, the laundry is picked up and the kitchen is ready to be mopped in the morning.

You see as much as I “loved” the chaos of looking too busy to clean, I’m finding that I like the peacefulness that a decluttered environment brings. The sense of order actually allows me to be more creative because I don’t have to stress out about having enough space to do the things I want to do or being able to find one of the supplies I need to complete a task. Not to mention the guilt that comes from looking at a pile of dishes that needs to be done and knowing that it would only take 5-10 minutes to put them in the dishwasher and start the load – and I still go and do what I want anyway.

I’m taking advantage of this three day weekend (luckily I work for a company that honors Dr. King’s accomplishments) to get my house back in order. I miss that uncluttered feeling I had right before and after I left for Iowa. I want the freedom to be creative without feeling like I should be doing something else. No more procrastinating for me.

Now if I could only figure out how to reduce the number of wires I have running across my desk, I’d be a much happier woman.

Leave a comment

Archives

Categories